Board does nothing, no serial either.

Hardware related problems and workarounds

Board does nothing, no serial either.

Postby SaskiFX » Tue Jan 19, 2016 8:20 pm

I have a Kickstarter Edition of the board that a friend gave me to try and get working, as I'm a lot more tech savvy than he is. I expected to find he had just missed something simple, but I'm stuck as well.

I have the board, I have the latest non-headless image from the site copied to a 32GB Class 10 SD Card, and it looks like all the files needed are there to boot. I have a powered USB hub connecting a keyboard and mouse, and the monitor wired in via the HDMI port. Network cable is attached. I power the board on and nothing happens aside from the one green light coming on. I read other posts mentioning about waiting for the network to perhaps come up so I can see if the board is booting, and nothing happens, no lights on the RJ45 jack.

So I ordered a serial cable and got it today. Attaching the cable changed nothing. I watch in PuTTY connected to the USB/COM port and I get no response there at all. I have tried with both the SD card in, as well as out to see if I could at least get something to appear. No luck.

I'm using the image from http://www.parallella.org/create-sdcard/ -> ubuntu-14.04-hdmi-z7020-20140611.img.gz (June 11, 2014, 2.1GB)

During his own testing and troubleshooting, he hit the wall as well, but never ordered a serial cable. I believe he actually RMAed the board back and it was returned to him saying nothing was wrong and it worked fine.

What's my next step, or what else can I try to get some sort of response from this thing?
SaskiFX

Re: Board does nothing, no serial either.

Postby bwheatley » Wed Jan 20, 2016 4:41 am