Page 1 of 1

Building GCC for Fortran too..

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:11 pm
by madtom1999
The toolchain is currently built from the SDK directory using build-toolchain.sh
Any tips on updating that to build fortran as well?

Re: Building GCC for Fortran too..

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:26 pm
by ysapir
Better ask in the SDK forum.

Re: Building GCC for Fortran too..

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:26 pm
by 9600
madtom1999 wrote:The toolchain is currently built from the SDK directory using build-toolchain.sh
Any tips on updating that to build fortran as well?


I think you would just add fortran to the list of languages specified with "--enable-languages" (line 156).

Curious as to whether you have a particular application in mind?

Cheers,

Andrew

Re: Building GCC for Fortran too..

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:37 am
by madtom1999
Cheers - its line 139 in mine - I gitted yesterday!
I apologise - I'm using new tools and didnt find that by my own search. These modern new fangled computers....

Re: Building GCC for Fortran too..

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:13 am
by theover
I did't yet built anything, because on my general use machine I needed to compile 3 math libraries and I didn't feel like that yet, but I'd like to express my interest in Fortran, too, but for a different purpose: Maxima.

I hope XMaxima can be put on the ARM, and would be interested in running Fortran (which can be created from Maxima's symbolic formulas) compiled parallel programs on the Epiphany, for instance for rendering Audio waves.

T.V.

Re: Building GCC for Fortran too..

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:31 am
by ysapir
One note, though - if using the e-lib in your Epiphany code, remember that the library is a C library and thus has C linkage. You may need to tell FORTRAN to take care of that in your program's header files.

Re: Building GCC for Fortran too..

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:43 pm
by dar
Just a comment on Fortran. You can target Epiphany with the STDCL API which has Fortran bindings. At present your kernels would still need to be written in C, but at least integration with your host code would be simplified this way.