Does OpenMPI handles different amount of cores/processor ?

Does OpenMPI handles different amount of cores/processor ?

Postby toralf » Sat Nov 23, 2013 10:12 am

Watching this video about running HPC OpenMPI batch jobs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6oUsMyDt7gU) it seems for me that OpenMPI just knows "nodes" and "processor_per_node", right ?
toralf
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:41 pm

Re: Does OpenMPI handles different amount of cores/processor

Postby over9000 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 5:49 pm

toralf wrote:Watching this video about running HPC OpenMPI batch jobs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6oUsMyDt7gU) it seems for me that OpenMPI just knows "nodes" and "processor_per_node", right ?

That seems to be the case, all right. The manpage for mpirun has a section "Specifying Host Nodes" that shows how to specify host nodes, with a variable number of "slots" per node. It goes on to say:
Here, we list both the host names (aa, bb, and cc) but also how many
"slots" there are for each. Slots indicate how many processes can
potentially execute on a node. For best performance, the number of
slots may be chosen to be the number of cores on the node or the num‐
ber of processor sockets.
over9000
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:49 am

Re: Does OpenMPI handles different amount of cores/processor

Postby 9600 » Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:19 am

Yes, remember that it is MPI on the ARM host.

There are plans for an "MPI Lite" for Epiphany and someone did make a start on this, but I understand that they didn't get very far before they ran out of time due to other commitments. It would, of course, be great to have.

Cheers,

Andrew
Andrew Back (a.k.a. 9600 / carrierdetect)
User avatar
9600
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:25 am


Return to Clustering

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron